Intro to My Extra-Large Family

Since this is my first post, this is the perfect time to introduce myself and my family. So many people are so amazed at the fact that my husband and I have eleven biological children that they tend to look at us as a unit, rather than individuals. In all honesty, we’re all about as different as you can get.
I’m Shelly, the Mom of this crew. In case you’re wondering, I’m still sane (I guess that’s relative :)), and I absolutely love my extra-large family. This year I’m homeschooling 7 of my 11 children. My oldest graduated from public school two years ago, and my three youngest are two toddlers and a baby. We are eclectic homeschoolers, which I’ll get to in another post. I love to read- non-fiction, Christian fiction, fantasy, even the books in the Young Adult section of the library. I’m a bit if a nerd.
My husband, Shawn, is my complete opposite. (Opposites attract, right?) He’s an avid skateboarder and archery hunter, and he loves technology. About the only interest we share is Duck Dynasty. I’m not even kidding.
Brendan, 20, is our oldest and no longer lives at home. (sniff, sniff) He is in the army reserves (military police), and he works at an electronics store. Brendan is literally a boy trapped in a young man’s body. He is so full of energy and so full of life that he makes me laugh all the time.
Devin is our 14 year old daughter. She’s our artsy child. She dyes her hair odd colors every couple months, is teaching herself how to play guitar, loves anime and Cosplay conventions, and draws beautifully. She’s a bit of an introvert, which is difficult in our noisy house, but she manages well. She’s actually a lot like me.
Dillon is 13 and is my active risk-taker. He recently broke his finger while skating with his dad and still skated the next day. He was a bit upset when the orthopedic surgeon told him absolutely no more skating until it heals. He actually attempted to go skating again the day after his appointment, but my husband, his skating buddy, said no way. Dillon also loves drawing, and he’s great at origami.
Arianna, 12, is my ”little mom.” She is a homemaker at heart and is my right-hand girl. She’s very self-motivated and loves to learn. She’s written three reports this week, and we’re on Christmas break! She also loves to be in the kitchen and is currently obsessed with watching YouTube tutorials on applying theatrical makeup. More than once I’ve been alarmed when one of my kids has come downstairs with a bruised or bloodied face, only to realize that he/she was the makeup Guinea pig of the day.
Caollin is 9, and I often refer to her as ”Little Dillon.” She’s another energetic risk-taker. I can usually find her climbing,,, well, anything. Trees, walls, poles, you name it. She is, yet, another artist (they don’t get it from me), and she’s a great dancer. (I actually can be objective about that because I used to be a dance teacher.)
London is 8 and is the cuddler. She loves listening to stories, and she loves reading to her siblings. She has the most empathy out of all my kids and because of this she truly cares about people.
Bailey, 6, is yet ANOTHER artist. (I truly don’t know where they all get it from.) He is currently learning to read, and he loves it. You can usually find him with a Dr. Seuss book in tow.
Luke, 5, is the stereotypical boy. Everything about him is rough and tumble, which is a stark contrast to his white-blond curls and blue eyes. (If I’d put a diaper on him, he’d look like Cupid.) He’s the one throwing dolls up in the trees and jumping on the bed, but he entertains us all with his antics.
Ireland is 3 and is a sweetheart. She loves to help me with the baby and with cleaning. (Wait til she’s older!) Ireland also loves to cuddle and can sometimes get jealous of her little sister, Summer.
Summer, 2, is my little explorer. Her motto should be, ”If I’m quiet, you’d better find me!). She loves getting into Mommy and Sister’s makeup and drawing on her eyebrows. She’s also been known to re-tile the floor with um, wonen’s feminine products and drink out of the cats’ water dish like, well, a cat.
Kenzie is 7 months old and is just a blessing. She’s happy and usually very content. She’s currently fascinated with the lights on our Christmas tree.
So there’s the overview of my family. My next post will be about how we homeschool..

http://whyhomeschool.blogspot.com/2008/04/carnival-of-homeschooling.html

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

4 thoughts on “Intro to My Extra-Large Family”

  1. Shelly, what a treat to read about your beautiful family. I am passionate about family life. about families loving each other and loving to be together and support each other’s interests and unique-ness. Your family sounds like a crew we would love to hang out with. Thank you for giving us a glimpse into who you all are. I’d love to meet you someday!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Renee! The feeling is mutual. As I told you before, your beautiful posts on self-directed learning were what gave me the final push into unschooling after a year of researching and dreaming about it. God bless!

      Like

  2. Hi Shelly,

    I popped over to meet your beautiful family. Yes, I can see you are a beautiful unschooling family just like us! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and reading my ridiculous post. I appreciate that very much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

