Weekend Review: Our First Week of Unschooling

Baby steps. Trust. They will learn.

image

     We’ve officially completed our first full week of unschooling, and I’ll tell you what… John Holt wasn’t kidding when he said you’ve got to trust that your kids will learn because,honestly, it’s not so apparent.
     If I could give anyone considering unschooling advice, even though we’re new at it, I would tell them not to compare themselves to those phenomenal examples of unschoolers right from the get-go. It’s going to take time for your kids to get used to the fact that they’re in charge of their education. Chances are, your children will not build a rocket with parts from the junkyard, fueled with cow manure. They will not write and professionally publish a novel while painting a portrait that would put Da Vinci to shame. At least, not right away.🙂
     Progress will happen in baby steps, and sometimes you may wonder if they’re learning at all, but, believe me. They are. I’m going to be honest and say that I’m writing this as much to myself as to you. Trust me, I’ve had my doubts this week. I’ve seen a lot of Minecraft activity and Ruzzle this week- more than I expected. Just when I started to stress over this fact, I overheard my son, Dillon, talking about how glass is formed. I asked him where he learned that, and he replied, ”Minecraft.” as if it should have been obvious to me. Minecraft,, duh!  That alleviated my fears a little bit and reminded me. Trust.
     Admittedly, I did end up giving them a little nudge, explaining to them what they already knew- that they will be evaluated at the end of the year, and while I know they’re learning, the school district may not look upon pure Minecraft learning too kindly.
     So what did we accomplish this week, besides lots of Minecraft?? Actually, more than it seemed. Lots of clay and play dough creations graced our home this week.

image

Dillon made baking clay and made a volcano, which he plans to paint and erupt. He may also research volcanoes- how they’re formed or where they’re most abundant. We did several science experiments involving the big bang theory, static electricity,

image

light waves, carbon dioxide, and even eggs!

image

image

Arianna made a lapbook on makeup- she’s been studying theatrical makeup. She also interviewed me and graced us with her cooking the other day. Caollin and London have spent time making play money and using their toy cash register/calculator to play store, and all the little ones from Caollin on down enjoy playing ”Little House on the Prairie”, our current family readaloud. We all also read independently everyday.
     My oldest daughter, Devin, has opted to continue on with her textbooks because she’s not too keen on change. That’s fine. I told her that unschooling is about child-directed learning- not a ban on textbooks. She does do other activities, as well. She loves star gazing and planet watching, she’s taking a flash animation class at the art school, and she’s just an extraordinarily creative girl.

image

Devin’s latest hair color-just dyed yesterday

     All in all, I would consider this week a success. We didn’t get as much accomplished as I had hoped, but I keep reminding myself. Baby steps. Trust. They will learn.

image

How was your week?

Carnival of Homeschooling

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Review: Our First Week of Unschooling”

Leave a Reply

