Definition of an Ideal Unschooler

What is the ideal unschooler?

     Since I made the switch to unschooling, I’ve been trying to wrap my brain around what an unschooler should really be like. I’ve always been one to overanalyze things, so it comes as no surprise to me that this has been weighing on my mind. After reading several books and hundreds of blogs, I still wasn’t able to come up with any definitive answer…until I took a look right around me.
     So, though opinions are sure to differ, I’ve come up with attributes I feel a ”star unschooler” would be sure to possess.

– A love of reading
image

– Innovation with objects on hand
image

– A willingness to help with household duties
image

– A love of exploration
image

image

– A love for science
image

image

image

– The ability to stay busy
image

image

image

– Lots of creativity
image

image

image

– And most importantly, a love for life
image

image

image

image

image

What do you think? Have I missed anything?

Linking up with
List It Tuesdays

Linking up with
Hip Homeschool Hop

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

7 thoughts on “Definition of an Ideal Unschooler”

  1. I had never heard of ‘unschooling’. My sons attended public schools and thankfully are now middle aged men. Well maybe not so much middle-aged but grown. I am raising two grands and they go to public school as well. I haven’t a problem with how anyone choses to school their kids. Your all look happy, healthy, and very creative!

    Like

  2. I love to see fun in learning. I also know my kids have a short memory and when we do fun in learning for them it’s great when they have a bit of a recall. Like if we did something spontaneous, and I want them to keep it within their memory, we expand on with with projects that encourage them to dig deeper. I believe ‘unschooling’ means learning the same things everyone else does, but in different and creative ways. However, a key to retaining it, pushing it further is directed projects and creations that make kids retain the true lesson in the fun. Thanks for sharing, I’m visiting from ‘List It Tuesday’

    Like

Leave a Reply

