Let’s Talk Curriculum

Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with any of the products or businesses listed here. This is all my opinion, and I am not being compensated in any way.

It’s that time of year again- curriculum shopping time! Being the nerd that I am, there’s just nothing like receiving those boxes of new books at my doorstep. But I have to confess, I was a little worried that this year would be a bit of a disappointment. You see, unschooling means using life as your curriculum, and, to me, just a few weeks ago I was lamenting the fact that the only actual curriculum I would be buying were the books for Devin’s private investigation unit.
I needn’t have worried. This has, by far, been the best curriculum shopping year ever because I wasn’t confined to buying just books. Here I’m going to share our newest learning tools for the rest of this year and next year.

Our Books

-Life of Fred- In order to make math less monotonous and more enjoyable for everyone, we’ve all decided on Life of Fred for math.I actually ordered almost every single book available up through advanced algebra. The only one I did not get is beginning algebra because Dillon won’t be doing that until 10th grade. I also ordered the Life of Fred high school language arts curriculum as well.

Teaching Astronomy through Art Books 1 and 2

Astronomy- A Self-Teaching Guide

Understanding Psychology- Third Edition

Traditional Logic 1- Introduction to Formal Logic

The Definitive Book of Body Language, Body Language 101, and Liespotting

For those of you new to my blog, you can find our approach to unschooling high school here-https://redheadmom8.wordpress.com/2014/01/29/navigating-the-red-tape-part-3-our-path-to-an-accredited-diploma/

All the Other Good Stuff

– Minecraft Homeschool

– Five Below is a homeschooler’s dream. It has such a vast array of activities for kids at the lowest possible prices. We purchased tons of crafts, paints, sketchbooks, mini Lego sets, books-yes, more books-, and games.

– Toys R Us has also been an excellent resource for us. While it is a bit pricier, the quality and assortment of activities is phenomenal. Some examples of what we got there are:
– a model solar system with an interactive tablet
– a microscope, telescope, and binoculars
– Lincoln Logs and Legos
– a butterfly kit where you actually send away for real caterpillars
– soooo many games
– Monopoly
– Yahtzee
– Scattergories
– Duck Dynasty trivia
– Brain Quest States game
– a keyboard which is compatible with Apple devices
– a Pretend and Play school set- my personal favorite since my girls love to play school

– We did get a few items at Walmart as well, such as a kid’s guitar, which is really just a miniature version of a real guitar, a mini trampoline, and a sewing machine, since the girls and I really want to learn how to sew.

Our “school” shopping this year has far surpassed my expectations. Now onto watching the kids get inspired!!

What has been your favorite curriculum purchase?

Linking up with

Hip Homeschool Moms

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Curriculum”

Leave a Reply

