Sorting Things Out

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’ve been writing a lot of posts lately with the hopes of encouraging others. I think that’s my spiritual gift. Having said that, I obviously don’t have all the answers, and there are several things that I’m trying to sort out in my own mind. Things like Should I regulate screen time? and As a Christian, what are my thoughts on birth control? These are just two of the slightly incoherent thoughts I’ve been trying to wrap my brain around lately because, truthfully, I don’t know what I think of these things, and it really bothers me.

So, I’ve decided to start a sporadic series of posts entitled “Sorting Things Out.” My goal is to get your opinions on these, and other, matters that I just can’t seem to make a decision on. I say “sporadic” because there won’t be a set period of time for these posts. They’ll just happen randomly as a therapeutic effect to help me sort my thoughts.

If any of you have specific topics you’d like to discuss, leave a comment or email me. I’m really hoping to get a back and forth dialog going with you. I get to post my opinion here. Now I want to know what you think.

Tomorrow I plan on posting about the pros and cons of screen time. Hope to see you there!

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

15 thoughts on “Sorting Things Out”

  1. I’m interested in what you have to say about screen time. We don’t have a tv here, but I find that we often end up doing more screen time than I mean to, anyway!

    Like

  2. I know what you mean. While we do have a TV, the biggest culprits here are the computers and the tablets. I’ve been going back and forth so much that I’m driving the kids (and myself) crazy.

    Like

  3. This is a really interesting idea. Look forward to reading and of course sharing my opinion. I’m always surprised at how easy it is to share an opinion, at least in this blogland. I guess most people are like me, if I don’t agree, I just move on. Unless, a Mommy is bathing their children in blue dye. Then I gotta say something.

    Like

    1. LOL. Speaking of blue dye, my daughter, Devin, cleaned her room yesterday and brought a trash bag downstairs. Her empty bottle from her blue hair dye fell out of the bag at some point, and my 9 month-old found it and had it in her mouth! I called poison control, and they said she’d be fine, but her tongue was blue for a few hours yesterday.

      Like

  4. LOL! Screen time is one that I swing back and forth on big time. I’m always like, “I can see how much you learn, but I feel like you’re a big addict!” We’re semi-fasting from screens right now because I’m working through some issues in what I feel is appropriate🙂

    Like

  5. Right now we have a “screen-free” period everyday, but it’s not always feasible for when my children want to go on the internet to look something up. I’m so wishy washy about this!

    Like

  6. My daughter is older, at 14, and one of the trickiest things we deal with each day is screen time. I don’t really mind it too much during a school day… she uses her quizlet account and looks up lots of things online. It’s in the evening, with the constant texting and instagramming… and it’s so hard to set rules about it, because everyone is online, and everyone is texting, and it’s become the primary way of keeping in touch. The thing I struggle with is just that – she and her friends are ALWAYS in touch. There is never a moment when they can’t be reached. And the truth is, my husband and I are the same way. So hard…

    Like

Leave a Reply

