An Unschooling Day- Our Way

Since I’ve been writing so much recently about our homeschooling philosophy, I thought I’d write about our day today to give you an idea of what we do. My husband had a vacation day today, and it was over 60 degrees outside (finally!), so this will be a little more exciting than what we’ve been doing the last couple of months, which has basically consisted of crafts, reading, and complaining about the snow.

This morning Luke approached me and said,
“Mom, I haven’t done my bookth (not a typo- he has a lisp) in a long time. Where are my bookth?”
“They’re in the basket with the other workbooks. Do you want to do them?”
“Yeth.”
He decided that he was going to work on math today, so after about 3 pages of math- very basic addition and subtraction- he went on his merry way playing his boyish games around the house. I have to add that, despite his lisp, his voice is very husky, so it sounds really comical.

Anyway…Ireland saw him doing his workbook, so she wanted to do her “school work.” I printed out some free letter printables, and she worked on those for a while. Ireland is the oldest child that’s never been formally taught, (she’s 4) and she whizzed through these papers before I could even tell her what to do. She really loves doing worksheets, so I’ve bookmarked the website because I have a feeling I’ll be visiting it a lot.

Soon after, we all ate a quick breakfast (sausage corn dogs for the kids, a banana nut muffin for me) and did our chores so we could get ready to go to the trout nursery, our field trip for the day.

It was so sunny and warm outside, I felt like doing cartwheels, but I held back because I didn’t want to have an aneurysm. We really had a great time, and I took lots of pictures.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It really is beautiful there, and the contrast between seeing the snow on the ground, and the warm weather was unbelievable. There’s some fabulous wildlife there, also. Every time we go there, Devin and I have always talked about the time we saw an enormous crane in a tree. It seriously looked like a pterodactyl. Well, there are a lot of information boards throughout the nursery, and we actually discovered from reading one today that the “crane” we saw was actually a herron. We also saw a poor fish swimming around that had its entire back ripped open, possibly by a herron. Poor thing. I’m sorry to say that I’ve never noticed these information boards before. Maybe they’re new. Regardless, we learned a lot from them, like how to tell different types of trout apart. Caollin, for some reason, has always called the yellow ones “Goldilocks,” but today we found out that they’re actually called “Golden Rainbow Trout.” I think she’ll still call them Goldilocks.🙂 We also never knew that the little hatchlings are called fisherlings.

On the way home, there was much discussion about fish. Devin hopes to one day have a koi pond. Dillon wants a piranha pond, of course. Dillon quizzed us on the types of trout and then told us which kinds he’s caught while fishing.

Afterwards, we stopped at the shopping center. Shawn took Devin, Dillon, Caollin, London, Luke, and Kenzie into Family Dollar with him, while I had Arianna, Bailey, Ireland, and Summer with me into Dollar Tree. Even though Shawn had two more kids than I did, he told me that the cashier complimented their good behavior, while my cashier, on the other hand, told me I have my hands full after witnessing Ireland crying because she couldn’t find anything to buy with her penny and Summer taking it upon herself to grab a Snickers bar off of the counter and open it (which I then had to buy). Then she tried the same thing with Skittles and so on and so on. Sigh…Why are kids always better behaved for their dads? I really want to know!

We came home and had spaghettios for lunch, then straightened up again because the house gets messy that fast. Since Shawn was home, I let Dillon and Devin play World of Warcraft with him, while the other kids played for a while. Arianna kept herself busy doing theatrical makeup again. Today she made herself a pumpkin.

After a while Devin came downstairs, and I reminded her about the shooting assignments she hasn’t done for her photography class. It turns out that she didn’t know how to work the manual settings on her camera, so I took her over to Dan’s Camera, where she got a 30 minute lesson on how to work her camera. They gave her so much information that she was even taking notes. It was definitely worth the trip because I honestly just expected them to spend 3 minutes telling her where everything was, and that was it. I even started to get worried after a while because I know they give photography lessons there, and the man was being so thorough, that I started thinking um…am I going to get charged for this? My fears were unfounded, and the only thing I ended up paying for was an SD card for Arianna’s camera.

We came home, and I made dinner- homemade hoagies and Checker’s fries. The kids did their prospective Life of Fred math books. Then, Devin came down and took a Greek mythology quiz from last week, and we went over her algebra self-test together.

So…this is what we did today. Who knows what we’ll do tomorrow? Hopefully, the weather will cooperate, and we’ll actually get outside again!

What have you done today?

Linking up with
Linky Button

wpid-LinkUpButton.jpg

wpid-anything_goes_new_small.png

wpid-ODHL.png

wpid-collagefridayinstagram.png

wpid-Image1-3.jpg Finishing-Strong-Link-Up-Button-125-x-125 apples_wheel_01w-300x300 wpid-entertaining_and_educational.png

Share the Wealth Sunday

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

19 thoughts on “An Unschooling Day- Our Way”

  1. I hope the weather stays nice and you can continue to get out! I love field trip days. I won’t tell you how warm it’s been in NM… for awhile now.😉

    Like

  2. Outing days are always the best days, aren’t they? We had a warm day yesterday, but the cold is on its way back for another week. But at least the cold will be warmer than the cold was a few weeks ago!🙂

    Like

  3. I love reading about your family’s unschool life! Warm weather is something to celebrate for sure, I’m watching sparrows out the window right now and we’ve seen a lot more squirrels but the temps are dropping below freezing again soon here. Yuck!

    The trout nursery sounds like a really neat place to visit! I’ve never been to a fish hatchery but there is one in a nearby town that I’ve wanted to contact. Maybe when the weather warms up and Mason heals we’ll try it. I love when places have information boards! There is so much to learn.

    It sounds like a great photography shop – I need lessons for using Manual mode. 🙂 Can you convince your daughter to post about it sometime?

    Like

    1. So nice to hear from you! I hope all is well with Mason and the rest of your family. The trout nursery here is very close to our house and my husband and I have both been visiting it since we were children, so it’s sort of a tradition. I will ask Devin if she’ll post about it, but as of right now, she’s still not 100% confident with manual settings yet herself. I think we may take another trip back to the camera shop. It’s so hard because we bought her camera used, and it didn’t come with a manual, so, other than what she was shown there, she’s been googling everything, which hasn’t always been very helpful.

      Like

  4. Oh what a fun day! And how blessed you are to have so many children. Unschooling was something I was never really comfortable with but I had some friends that loved it.

    I love organization and routine, so we had just enough of it to make me happy but enough flexibility in it too.

    My oldest thrived on routines and liked to know what he was doing when and he liked charts, etc., so it worked out well for him. The youngest didn’t like change very much, lol! He still doesn’t but he’s much better now that he’s an adult, haha! Thanks for linking up to Making Your Home Sing Monday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

