Are You Looking for an Exciting Way to Incorporate PA History?

If there’s one thing that my kids have in common, it’s that they are hands-on learners. Give them an activity that they can actually do for themselves, and the topic will come alive for them. But sometimes history may prove to be a tricky thing to find any good resources which will cater to my kids’ kinesthetic tendencies.

This is why I’m so excited today to tell you about an amazing book I’ve had the opportunity to review: Archbald Pothole and Other Pennsylvania State Parks Make-Your-Own Game Book, by Sandy Sieber.

This isn’t just any book; it’s actually a kit to create three different games about PA state parks. You can choose from western state parks, central state parks, and eastern state parks, or you can do all three!

Since we live in eastern PA, that’s the game we chose to make today. Let me tell you, I was a little intimidated at the prospect of making a game, but this was so simple to put together- even for a non-crafty person like me.🙂

The kit comes with most of the things you’ll need to assemble the game. Otherwise, you’ll just need a poster board, a pair of scissors, a glue stick, and buttons or small toys to use as game pieces. (We used Shopkins!)

 

The instructions are very detailed, and most of the game assembly just includes folding, cutting, and pasting. Simple, but fun!

 

My almost 12 year old helped me, and she thought that making her own die was so much fun. One tip: the paste wasn’t holding the die together, so we used scotch tape. Easy peasy!

After we finished the game board, I covered it with contact paper so that it would hold up longer. This is completely optional; I just happened to have a roll of it in the house, and I thought, Why not?

My daughter wanted to play the game immediately after we finished making it. Since it was the first time we were playing it, and I wasn’t sure how to play, most of the other kids agreed to wait until we figured it out (except for my six year old who insisted on playing with us and hasn’t stopped asking to play it again and again all day!)

I’ve got to say that I am so impressed with the amount of research that must have gone into this. Sandy provides so many facts about each and every state park. I myself learned tons playing the game!

There are so many state parks in PA. Unfortunately, I live in one of just a few counties in the state that has absolutely none, so we’ve only ever visited one that was in a neighboring county.

This game has inspired me to take advantage of my husband’s upcoming vacation, and get out there and witness the beauty and history of some more. I’ve got the perfect guide to take with us!

 

(I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are entirely my own.)

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

8 thoughts on “Are You Looking for an Exciting Way to Incorporate PA History?”

  1. I have been to PA a couple times. Beautiful state. Very green which I am not used to since I live in the high desert of Nevada. I love the idea behind this project/game. Makes me want to get out the arts and crafts and have a crafting day with the kids! Thanks for linking with #momsterslink.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

