Jesus Talked to Me Today by James Stuart Bell

Have you ever wondered whether God still speaks directly to believers as He did in biblical times? In this day and age it can be hard to believe that it could possibly still happen.

In Jesus Talked to Me Today, author James Stuart Bell has compiled a collection of more than forty accounts of children having direct encounters with angels, God, and other miraculous events. Included in this anthology are personal recollections of angelic protection from bullies and home invaders, sudden and inexplicable healings, and definitive moments of hearing the voice of God in answer to the desperate prayers that have gone up to Him. 

Although there were several stories that stood out to me, the one that brought me to tears was the narrative of a young girl who had leukemia. The details of what she had to go through were almost too much for me to read, and even now I shudder to think about them. This account of divine intervention was not only emotional, but I am confident that it will be a beacon of light to anyone who doubts the reality of miracles in contemporary society. 

In addition to the almost unbelievable stories of angels and sightings of Jesus Himself, there are many stories of what may seem like the sort of testimonies we hear in church all the time, and it is very likely that some people may find these a bit more mundane, but they had the opposite effect on me. Their presence in the midst of the other seemingly “more exciting” anecdotes was an awesome reminder to me that we believers are all greatly and abundantly blessed by God, and it’s high time that we start recognizing those blessings as the wonderful gifts that they are.

I recommend this book to anyone who may need some encouragement that God is, indeed, still very much in our lives- especially in the lives of children.

But Jesus said, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.”

Matthew 19:14

 

Disclaimer- I received a complimentary copy of this title from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are entirely my own.

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

16 thoughts on “Jesus Talked to Me Today by James Stuart Bell”

  1. Sounds like an amazing book! Will have to add it to my “to read” list.

    We have an old family story that a child came inside and told her Mom that a giant bird talked to her and told her she was going to Heaven and not to be afraid. The next day the child drowned in a well. Gives me the chills whenever I hear it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds great! I love hearing stories like these, and we actually hear them a lot from the Muslims we work with. God is revealing Himself to them in dreams and visions very, very often! Thanks for sharing this post at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com this week! Always a pleasure to have you.
    Tina

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

