Oodles of Awesome Activities for Fire Prevention Week

Activities for Fire Prevention Week

(This post is dedicated to my nephew, Jerry, a fireman who is currently on medical leave due to an injury from fighting a fire.)

As many of you know, this week is Fire Prevention Week. Teaching our children about the dangers of fires and what to do in the event one happens can be a bit frightening for some, but it is so necessary. This hits rather close to home with me, as we just experienced a small fire in our kitchen a few months ago due to faulty wiring, and it was my 3 year old who alerted us to it. If she hadn’t done so, we may not have a house today.

Since this week is our break week, my younger children will not be doing any formal schoolwork; however, this is the perfect time to throw some fire safety activities into the mix. 

Here are some ideas you may want to incorporate this week:

  • Bake some goodies for the firemen at your local fire station.
  • Write a thank you letter or make a card for your neighborhood firemen.
  • Take a tour of a fire station.
  • Have a family meeting and come up with an evacuation route in the event of a fire in your home.
  • Talk about age-appropriate fire safety guidelines.
  • Make your own “fire extinguishers” by decorating old coffee cans or other suitable containers and filling them with baking soda.
  • Play a game of Fireman Says, graciously provided by consumersafety.org.
  • Make it a family event to change the batteries in all of your smoke detectors.
homemade fire extinguisher
This is Caollin’s baking soda-filled fire extinguisher.

I’ve also discovered some great posts with tons of fun fire safety activities just for you!

This is literally just the tip of the iceberg. I may be late to the party with Pinterest, but boy am I loving it now!

Before I go, I just wanted to leave you with some important information provided by Consumer Safety. There are two recalls on children’s pajamas due to not meeting current fire standards:

Saro Trading Nightgowns

Cecil & Lou Nightgowns

Have a Happy and Safe Fire Prevention Week!

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

8 thoughts on “Oodles of Awesome Activities for Fire Prevention Week”

Leave a Reply

