Why Do People Think School Is the Only Place to Meet New People?

why-do-people-think-school-is-the-only-place-to-meet-new-people

As I’m sure has happened multiple times to other homeschoolers, recently I’ve been questioned a few times about whether I feel my children are deprived by “not having the opportunity to meet new people because they’re not in school.” 

Wait, what?! 

I understand that most of these comments come from people who are genuinely concerned, but I’m trying to figure out why so many onlookers think school is the only place to be exposed to new people. I don’t know about other people, but growing up, I had friends from a variety of places- not just school. Places like:

  • Girl Scouts
  • Dance class
  • The roller skating rink
  • Our neighborhood

Although the places may be a little different now, doesn’t this hold true for kids today? Even when my kids were in school, most of their friends that they actually spent non-school time with weren’t even from there. In fact, my kids meet more new people now than ever- and not just other children!

I don’t know what’s going on with society today, but it seems that despite the fact that our schools are failing and getting worse as time goes on, people are clinging harder and harder to the ideas impressed upon them by their time in a classroom.

Why? Why do we do this?

It’s almost like people realize that schools really have nothing left to give, academically, so they desperately grasp at that final straw- socialization.

If given the time to think about it, I’m sure that most people would realize the fallacy behind the whole “school is necessary to meet people” notion. Adults meet new people all the time, and- surprise!- they don’t have to be in school for that to happen.

Being homeschoolers doesn’t mean that we’re a family of hermits that only leave home for church on Sundays. If anything, we’re out more than we would be if the kids were in school because we actually have time to immerse ourselves in the community around us sans the time constraints placed on so many traditional school families by the educational establishment. We’re not hiding behind locked doors shielding ourselves from the world around us.

We’re in that world everyday. At the grocery store. Delivering cookies to the firemen. Playing with the neighborhood kids. At the library. And, yes…at church. We’re with people every single day. The only difference is that we’re not in a room full of people sitting quietly at desks. We’re living life as it’s meant to be.

And even if this weren’t the case- even if my kids had no friends at all, I’m not so sure school is the place I’d send my kids to remedy that problem. Given the breakdown in morals today, I’d find some other place for my kids to meet people, thank you.

But rest assured, homeschooling doesn’t mean that our children are deprived. If anything, our children are better off because they’re not only meeting people their own age; they’re meeting people of every age, color, ethnicity, and income bracket, engaging with them in a natural way. Isn’t that a bit more representative of real life than sitting in a classroom behind a desk all day? Being present in a room with a slew of people doesn’t necessarily amount to much if meaningful interaction is prohibited.

So to answer the question at hand, my kids are many things. They are happy. They are stimulated. They are educated. They are loved.

One thing they are not is deprived.

 

Are you new to homeschooling or considering it? From now through October 16th, 2016, enter here to win a free copy of On Homeschooling: Ways To Save Time, Money, And Stress When Starting Out. Hurry, there are only a few days left!!

 

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

21 thoughts on “Why Do People Think School Is the Only Place to Meet New People?”

  1. You know, we should start going up to public school parents and ask questions like:

    So what worldview are your children being taught through in sex-ed classes?
    How many hours a day do your kids sit quietly in a chair not “socializing” about what they are learning?
    Do you have dinner table meals together and have spirited discussions about the last presidential debate?
    Can your child list five signers of the Declaration of Independence?
    Has your child ever been bullied at school?
    Haha. I can just imagine their faces!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, this is so right Shelly!! Why is it that people tend to think that school is the only place to make friends when the biggest problems in school are bullying, drugs, and peer pressure from the wrong crowd! God knows all the things I did wrong in my life that were initiated at school such as smoking, drinking, premarital sex and drugs (which is the only thing I didn’t do, thank God! But most of my friends did) I don’t really think that I want my kids to make friends I don’t know, from families I never met, with values I am not sure what they are, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not a homeschooling mom but I have friends that are and I’ve heard them say the same thing. It’s funny too because their kids get out and socialize more than mine, and mine are in public school…LOL! Great post and thanks for sharing it at Share The Wealth Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

