Are You Being #Shaken?

Tim Tebow's Shaken

Are you going through tough times? Do you feel like the world, and more specifically, God, have it in for you?

You are not alone.

Former Heisman Trophy winner and NFL football player, Tim Tebow, has tackled- no pun intended- this very difficult issue in his latest book, Shaken. Besides delving deeply into his own personal stories of difficulties, Tebow has compiled a heartwarming, and sometimes heart-wrenching, collection of stories of everyday people who go through tremendous trials and yet somehow allow God’s glory to shine through every step of the way. From cancer-stricken children to former victims of abuse, these stories highlight the God-given strength of people who have wholly committed their trust in the Lord.

Although I’m not particularly a fan of football, I’ve admired Tim Tebow for some time due to his unabashedness about his faith and his very public pro-life stance. And, hey, of course I’m going to be partial to a former homeschooler.🙂

However, I have to admit, before I started reading this book, the thought, “How hard can his life actually be?” did cross my mind. After all, he has fame, money in the bank, adoring fans, great friends, and a loving family.

Since I don’t really keep up with the sports scene, I really wasn’t aware of the mean-spiritedness directed towards this righteous man…

I’m talking to you, Bill Maher.

Every single page of this book was filled with inspiring deeds Tim Tebow has done- not for publicity but because God has given him the heart of a servant. He reaches out to the sick and disabled, ministers to those in prison, and is unafraid and unashamed of what people think of his boldness in Christ. Additionally, he’s not afraid to say that sometimes he really doesn’t feel up to doing these things when he’s going through a rough time, but every single time, God moves and uses him in a big way. Those are often the times that reap the biggest rewards.

This book has #shaken me to my very foundations. It has ignited in me a burning desire to move out of my comfort zone, and do something for others, despite how hard it sometimes seems life is.

“When we are grounded in whose we are, not only can we handle the storms that come, but we can also begin to move forward in a more purposeful direction. We can begin to live in a new way. We can impact others even when our circumstances look bleak. We can use our stories to help others in their own.”

-Tim Tebow, Shaken

 

Tim Tebow's #Shaken

 

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

10 thoughts on “Are You Being #Shaken?”

  1. Well I was definitely shaken by your review. I’m a true believer but lately I have just been doing anything and lost all desire for a relationship with him! Your blog was the first Christian one I’ve come across since being on WordPress for 2 months! Truly great review! Maybe you can take a look at my new blog I started recently and I’d be happy to exchange likes on posts we actually like of eachothers and a follow

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like a wonderful book to read. I love the quotes too.

    Thank you for sharing this with us on the #FridayFriolity party. We hope to see you next Thursday at 9pm EST.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

