The Bad Habits of Jesus- Review

“The cross is not a giant plus symbol. It is an ‘I’ crossed out.”- Leonard Sweet

bad-habits-of-jesus

Are you a good Christian? Do you prefer the company of fellow believers to being in a crowd of unbelievers? Do you try your best not to offend people? Are you a rule follower?

I’ve got news for you…

According to today’s standards of what makes a good Christian, Jesus had some pretty bad habits.

Shocked? I have to admit, when I saw the title of The Bad Habits of Jesus, I was a little miffed. The first thought that came to my mind was, How dare someone suggest such a thing???

But then I actually read it. 

Author Leonard Sweet has taken a giant risk in the publication of this book. Not because what he’s written is wrong, but because it is true and is likely to fly in the face of what most people consider to be the traits of respectable believers.

Curious?

Did you ever think about the fact that Jesus spit? That He procrastinated? That He hung out with bad people? That He regularly offended people? That He broke the rules?

These are but a few of the examples given by Sweet of those instances that Jesus seemed to do the very things that we as Christians try so hard not to do today. Sweet has pulled passages straight out of the Bible that, when looked at in the context he has chosen, are pretty shocking and are bound to make readers rethink their views of what their roles as believers actually are.

Since I became a Christian, I’ve always considered myself to be one of the “good Christians” I mentioned before. I don’t smoke. I don’t drink. I don’t use swear words. I do my best to be nice and thoughtful to everyone.

But…

I tend to prefer to be around fellow believers, rather than those who are of the world.

Jesus hung out with sinners all the time. He dined with prostitutes and tax collectors. He chose the lowest of the low to reach out to. Why am I not doing the same?

I also happen to be big on rules. Just ask my kids.

Jesus wasn’t so big on the rules. In fact, one of the reasons the Pharisees hated Him so much was because He had the audacity to break their rules all the time.

This book has opened my eyes to so many things I thought I was doing right, but have actually been doing wrong.

So my question to you today is this:

Are you willing to stop being “good” by society’s standards in order to follow the One, True King? 

I know I am, starting right now.

 

Disclosure- I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

9 thoughts on “The Bad Habits of Jesus- Review”

  1. In my church we call this following the spirit of the law over the book of the law. Something like that. One example would be God’s commandment to keep the sabbath day holy. The Pharisees didn’t approve of things Christ did on the sabbath day, even though they were completely selfless deeds. All they cared about was pointing out that Christ was breaking the law (in their opinion). The Pharisees were hyprocrites. They cared more about the appearance of good than actually living good lives. They didn’t realize that God looks upon our hearts. Everything Christ did for us was genuine, from his heart, out of his love for God the Father. That’s the kind of Christian each of us should strive to be.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooooh, what a controversial title!! My interest was instantly piqued!!
    YUp, I’ve been guilty too often, of trying to be a good Christian, instead of being so totally immersed in Jesus, and His presence., working on that too, just as you are!!
    Thank you, Shelly for constantly pointing us to Christ, the author and finisher of our faith!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

