Brave Girls 365-Day Devotional- Review

Christmas is right around the corner. As a mom of seven girls, I can attest to the fact that once they reach a certain age, they can be a bit- ahem- difficult to buy gifts for. Toys are too babyish, but makeup is too grown up.

What’s a mom to do? 

The Brave Girls 365-Day Devotional, by Jennifer Gerelds and Tama Fortner, is the perfect gift for adolescent and tween girls. This very pink and pretty book contains 365 daily devotionals that cut straight to the heart of what girls this age are going through by using real life tween girl scenarios, backed up by applicable verses. Unlike other devotionals, however, this devotional is written through the eyes of five fictional “Brave Girls”- Hope, Glory, Honor, Gracie, and Faith. Each of these characters has her own unique personality traits that preteen girls will easily identify with.

Additionally, at the end of each day’s devotion is a “prayer pointer” which is an excellent prompt for a post-devotional prayer. There are also several “Write It Out” devotions that feature a chosen verse, and, rather than providing the life application for the readers, asks the readers to write out their own thoughts about it.

When I received this book in the mail, I browsed through it and set it down on the table. Within five minutes, my 11 and 12 year old daughters had their hands on it and were excitedly paging through it. They asked if they were allowed to read it and were delighted to find out it was for them. As I went to make dinner, they sat down together and started reading. A bit later I found them each copying verses out of this devotional into their homeschool notebooks.

I had a feeling they were going to enjoy this book,but I had no idea how much! I promised them each their own journal specifically for writing down their devotional verses, and they couldn’t be more pleased.

If you’re looking for a gift for an older elementary to middle school age girl, I highly recommend this book. This is, by far, the cutest devotional I’ve ever seen.

 

Disclaimer- I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

10 thoughts on “Brave Girls 365-Day Devotional- Review”

  1. What a great gift idea for a young girl, Shelly! Thanks for sharing about this. I have some nieces that might relish it as much as it seems your daughters have! Oh and 7 daughters and 11 children in total to raise–not to mention, homeschooling them? I’m going to offer a prayer for you, my friend! Nice to meet ya!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

