Parenting with Grace and Truth- Review

Leading and Loving Your Kids Like Jesus

As a Christian mother, “biblical parenting” is a phrase I hear quite a bit in my circles. Moms will be talking about disciplinary issues with their children, and this term will inevitably pop up at one point or another.

But what is biblical parenting? 

Too often, this term is never actually explained in a practical sense. It’s assumed that, as Christians, it’s something that we already know about and understand. Those who don’t understand are often ashamed to ask what it means because, again, it’s assumed that we’re already familiar with it.

Dan Seaborn, founder of Winning at Home and author of Parenting with Grace and Truth: Leading and Loving Your Kids Like Jesus, has created a tremendous resource for those who want to parent biblically, but aren’t sure how.

Seaborn has taken verses directly out of God’s Word and explains how to practically apply them as parents who are not only believers, but hope to lead their own children to Christ. Some of the topics he covers are:

  • Developing good character in your children
  • Parenting through a crisis
  • How to be an effective parent
  • Blended families
  • The roles of Mom and Dad

…among several others.

In addition to explaining everything in a no-nonsense and straightforward way, he frequently includes personal stories, either from his own family or from others he’s counseled, as illustrations to provide context for his readers.

I was very excited to receive this book, as I am one of those mothers who desires to parent in a godly manner, but honestly wasn’t sure what that all entailed. Seaborn provides an easy-to-read resource that I will refer to again and again. The only things I wish had been included, but weren’t, are:

  • Advice for women whose husbands are not believers, and
  • Examples of appropriate consequences for specific disciplinary issues

Other than that, this book is a solid reference for parents looking for godly wisdom, and I highly recommend it to parents with children of all ages.

(Disclaimer- I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.)

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

4 thoughts on “Parenting with Grace and Truth- Review”

  1. I always laugh when people throw around the phrase “biblical parenting,” because, to be honest, there are very few good examples of parenting in the Bible. Most of the good kings are followed by awful ones! But I do know what people mean by it so I keep my laughter inside. 🙂 And this book looks like a great resource! Thanks for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com!
    Tina

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

