5 More Reasons to Homeschool Your Kids

With just a few keystrokes and the simple click of a mouse, you can find hundreds, maybe thousands, of posts listing reasons to homeschool your kids.  In fact, just a few short months ago, I wrote an entire series about that very subject.

Although there are some variations, for the most part, many of the reasons are the same. Some people bring up values, while others write about the freedom that homeschooling brings, and these are definitely great justifications for homeschooling. But there are a few I’ve thought of that you don’t hear mentioned often, although they seem rather obvious to me. 

So here are:

5 More Reasons to Homeschool Your Kids

 

1. Your child has a physical condition.

 

As the mother of a child with constitutional delay, I cannot tell you enough how much of a blessing homeschooling has been. Had I continued to send this child to school, I have no doubt there would have been bullying, teasing, and mental abuse at the hands of classmates. Allowing your child to remain in an atmosphere of love and acceptance is far better than the alternative.

 

2. Your child has a behavioral condition.

homeschool kids behavioral conditions

Children with disorders such as ADHD often get a bad rap in schools because of their natural inclination to fidget, talk, and daydream. The classroom setting is simply not a good choice for children such as these, IEP or not. An at-home school setting gives your child the liberty to talk, take breaks, jump around, and daydream to his heart’s content. In addition, homeschooled children have the added benefit of learning at their own pace, not a school’s arbitrary timeline.

 

3. Your child is being bullied at school.

homeschool your bullied child

Countless times, I have been so frustrated and heartbroken over news reports of children committing suicide because they were being bullied- usually at school. These stories often contain anecdotes about parents asking for their child’s school to intervene, to no avail. I can’t help but ask myself…Why would parents who knew their kids were getting bullied allow them to remain in that atmosphere, whether the school helped or not? I can understand how the prospect of homeschooling may be intimidating to some, but even cyber schooling is a much better option than school. No child should have to go through that. Ever.

 

4. Your child has separation anxiety

kids with separation anxiety should be homeschooled

When I was in kindergarten, I used to spend every single day in the teaching assistant’s lap, crying because I wanted my mommy. Every. single. day… All. year. Tell me, what is so important that it’s necessary to force a young child to be separated from a parent all day long if it obviously traumatizes them? Studies show that children who are calm and happy learn infinitely better than children in stressful situations, so obviously, children like this won’t learn well in a school setting. Homeschooling is the perfect solution to this problem.

 

5. Your child is easily influenced by others.

children who are easily influenced should be homeschooled

Let’s face it. There are some kids who will do anything to be accepted. If your child is like that, school is NOT the place for them. I know it’s a cliche to talk about how bad kids are nowadays, but in the face of school shootings, assaults, and the onset of the ever-rising 15 minutes of fame, thanks to Facebook Live and YouTube, school is not what it once was, and teachers are powerless to do anything about it. Protect your child’s dignity and morality by keeping him home.

 

As homeschooling becomes more and more mainstream, it makes sense to consider it a valid option in the face of difficulties such as these. Don’t overlook it simply because it’s something different. Anything that can help your children to learn in a peaceful and nurturing environment is an asset, no matter how unconventional it may seem. Take the chance. 

Your kids are worth it.

 

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

10 thoughts on “5 More Reasons to Homeschool Your Kids”

  1. Very good reasons! I have also found that one reason we home school is to teach our kids the value of community- being part of the library, making friends anywhere you go and interacting with a variety of ages from younger to much older. It also gives them an opportunity to spend ‘school hours’ bonding with grandparents and other relatives frequently in the afternoons. I can’t imagine what it would be like if they didn’t come home from school until 4 and then had homework. I think their personal relationships would suffer greatly

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Shelly, I realize not everyone can afford to stay home and school their children. As a former homeschool mom, it was a financial sacrifice to only have one income. The thing is, out of the reasons you listed, my oldest son had two. I know it made all the difference to have those years at home and the sacrifices far outweighed the difficulty. I ended up pulling my other two kids out of tradition school as well. I treasure those times.

    My oldest is now is an honored Airman with many awards serving our country. My middle son graduated college and is now going for his Masters in Divinity and my daughter is attending college while working as a reporter at our local newspaper.

    I thank you for your encouragement and many tips for homeschooling.
    God bless,
    Beckie from Spotlight, https://beckielindsey16.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All you wrote is valid,but the thing is that a child needs an open environment in which he could study open mindedly. Letting him study in school let’s him enjoy his Social Life.As far as bullying,getting influenced by others is concerned,it’s a mother’s responsibility to guide him and make him aware of what is right or wrong for him.(:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is true, but it’s more possible to study open-mindedly in a home environment because students are able to have more say in what they learn, rather than just learning what they’re told they have to. As for a social life, my kids have more of one now than they ever did in school. Remember that in school, students aren’t supposed to be socializing, except for those few minutes between classes and at lunch.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

