3 Great Reasons to Give Betsy DeVos a Chance

The political climate today is pretty turbulent and something that I try to stay out of as much as possible. Unfortunately, the recent protests over new Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos have rendered me unable to keep my mouth shut any longer.

As someone who is extremely passionate about education, I’m really scratching my head, trying to figure out why people don’t see what is so obvious to me, namely that the public education system needs someone like Betsy DeVos.

Here’s why. 

3 Huge Reasons to Support Betsy DeVos

1. She brings a fresh perspective to a crumbling school system.

One of the most frequent complaints about her is her “lack of experience.” Ummm…I hate to point out the gigantic elephant in the room…

elephant in the room

…but “experience” certainly hasn’t helped our educational institution thus far, has it? The U.S. school system is broken– I’m afraid beyond repair- but if anyone can do anything to help, it is going to be someone who hasn’t been brainwashed (and that’s really what it is) to believe that there is only one way to do things.

 

2. She’s not afraid to think outside the box.

think outside the box

Another misgiving people have is her support for school choice, private schools, and homeschooling. My question to those people is,

What’s wrong with that?

Our schools are unsafe, ineffective, and getting worse everyday. Why shouldn’t we look for better options? In addition, DeVos isn’t delusional. She knows as well as the rest of us that the public education system is here to stay. The difference is that she isn’t blind to the fact that there simply are better ways to learn, and I’m fully confident that she can bring new ideas to fruition in a system that is teetering on the edge of disaster.

What else can be done? More standardized tests?? That always seems to be the answer given by all of the “experienced” education bureaucrats.

How’s Common Core workin’ for ya? 

As the saying goes,

“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results.”

Yup. That about sums up the past few decades of our education “solutions.”

And people want more of that??

 

3. The public education system is actually working just as it was originally intended.

school is about assembly line learning

I’m going to let you in on a little secret…Schools are working just as they were always meant to work.

Do you honestly think these bureaucrats don’t know that this huge focus on standardized testing and Common Core is useless? Believe me, they know. Unbeknownst to most people, that’s simply their method of appeasing the public- making it look like they’re trying to do something- while advancing the original intent of compulsory education- training obedient factory workers (and cashiers, dishwashers, janitors, etc.)

Not working too well, though, is it?

Betsy DeVos isn’t one of the “good old boys.” She’s aware of the issues with our public schools, she knows why our schools are the way they are, and she will not stand idly by while the children of this country are being given a disservice that is insidiously disguised as a “privilege.”

 

It’s about time something was done about the state of our schools. And I’m happy to support Betsy DeVos as the one to do it.

How about you?

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

16 thoughts on “3 Great Reasons to Give Betsy DeVos a Chance”

  1. I have been an Special Educator for 20 years and DeVos scares the living you know what out me.

    I am not one these educators who thinks that public schools are great, I know they are not. I know first hand that there is a lot of shady stuff and secret deals going on behind close doors that benefit adults and not the kids. Also, I know that kids are getting a piss-poor education in public schools these days. I went to a hood school and I received a much better education than what my kids received at their modern up-to-date schools.

    I blame a lot of public education problems on parents and it is two-fold. Parents who don’t give a rat about their child’s education (don’t show up for meetings, don’t show up for IEP’s, don’t lift a finger to help their child, etc) and complain about how their child is being left behind or the more dangerous parents-the gratification parent. Those are the worst. I recently had a meeting with one of those and she asked me a question about my schooling. Her question was “What percentage of your high school went to a four-year college out of high-school.” I told her maybe 10% and then she said “See, you know nothing about a high level of learning.” I told her that 30 years out of high school, most of my classmates have B.A’s or higher and ones who don’t have college degrees are quite successful in their field. I told her about myself, that I had no clue coming out of high school, flunked out of junior college, joined the Navy and learned some discipline and figured out what I wanted to do and that many of my high school classmates did the same. It didn’t impress her, she said that the school was ruining her child’s chances for success in life.

    Everything we have done in public education since I have been in it has been a reaction to those types of parents. A teacher could not get way with the advice I was told, “Hey, stay eligible for sports and graduate, then you can figure out what to do, meanwhile you are getting educated in life.” “No Child Left Behind”, “Common Core” and here in California “A-G graduation requirements (designed to make all kids eligible for Cal) ” are in response to that. They haven’t worked but people want to see the results now and not 20 or 30 years down the road and school districts are responding to some cra-cra parents.

    The schools are unsafe because of the social problems in our neighborhoods and what these kids are digesting in the media (TV, music, video games, movies, etc). Shooting each other is a way to get back at another person, that is what they are raised on. When my daughter was in high school, some boy was sending her x-rated pictures even after she told him to stop. I reported it to the principal and set up a meeting instead of calling the cops. My bad, this parent called my daughter degrading names at the meeting and threatening to beat me up more than once and supposedly this was a good neighborhood and a top ranked school. When the parent acts the fool, the child is paying attention and will act the same way. The problem is that many parents are taking the low road teaching their children to the same.

    My big problem with DeVos, is I don’t think she has a clue to what the common teacher does on a day-to-day basis. I don’t think that she understands that the actual teaching is about fifth or sixth on our list. So it, is easy to blame us for not educating kids. I don’t think she realizes that I am also the kid’s parent, social worker, nutritionist, etc, etc. When I am dealing with kids who have serious ADD and they didn’t take their medicine before school and moms took them to Starbucks on drive to school and they walk in with that Triple-shot latte, I know the first hour is going to be not fun. One kid came back and told me that I was the only one to give him any sort consequences for anything and that he learned responsibility from me (his parents were highly educated and had good jobs, so I don’t know)/

    Also, I have a problem with charter schools. Here in California it has been proven that over 50% of the charter schools are shady in some way. Everything from faulty attendance (if you log in and stay logged in for one minute on the computer at home, you are are said to have attended for the day), to scam artists, to fiduciary irresponsibility, to fraud and some have illegally pocketing taxpayer funds instead of using the money for kids. I know one charter school that had great test scores but wasn’t paying their teachers because the wife of the guy who started it was skimming the cash.

    Here is the thing, DeVos is the Secretary of Education. I will give her the benefit of the doubt and pray that she learns what the everyday teacher does and educates herself on public education and doesn’t listen to nutters out there.

    The schools do need to get better but our society needs to change for the better also,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, you are absolutely right. So many people today have completely shirked their parenting responsibilities. I’ve written about that a few times, and I always inevitably got a comment to the effect of- don’t judge other parents. The thing is, if no one is willing to call these people out, things are NEVER going to change. If I can make a difference by bringing things to people’s attention, I’m willing to deal with a few people who don’t like what I said. As for DeVos not knowing what teachers do each day, I agree with that, but neither do most bureaucrats. I’ve reached the point where I’ve realized that it’s about time we do something different instead of the same things that don’t work over and over again. That’s what I’m hoping will happen. Keeping my fingers crossed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s many reasons we should be afraid of her track record. It’s been bad, really bad. Not to mention her insensitivity. My mother in law is an educator and principal in the state she last left her mark, and it was a devasting one. Those students that we continue to let down with each administration will be our future doctors, engineers, and world builders ~ it’s not a promising future with the administration we have that doesn’t believe in supporting the people that are paying into the ‘system’ we have called government. Taking the uber rich in hand to make decisions affecting the working class is a bad move on the part of the American people. It’s about to get much more interesting. We can only pray that God holds the mechanisms of the enemy to prevail for all.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think a fresh way of thinking is always a positive – but that fresh turn of thought should be built upon experience. Also, I think you may want to research her history a bit more. She has funded organizations that have promoted and sustained Common Core for decades. Decades. To say that this is an unfortunate appointment is the understatement of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As I said in my post, I don’t think experience in this case is a good thing, judging from the past, meaning experience in the politics of education instead of truly caring and wanting to change things. As for her record with Common Core, it is true that she did once support it, but in her own words, once it “got turned into a federalized boondoggle,” she changed her mind. Unfortunately, not enough people have seen it for what it is.

      Like

  4. Great points, Shelly, and I agree. She wouldn’t have been my first choice, but there certainly could’ve been worse and her support for choices in education is refreshing. So many parents are blind to the truths about public education. Makes me sad. When my kids were in the school system I was completely involved. That was better for my kids, yes, but frankly my involvement did nothing to change the system because the majority of parents and teachers need to admit the problems, ban together and make that happen, IMO. So thankful for the freedom to homeschool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like you, when my kids were in school, I was also really involved. I was vice-president of the PTA, a member of the Community School committee, and I was honored by Head Start for my involvement in the program. Unfortunately- or maybe fortunately-, as involved as I was, the public school environement was terrible. It was full of politics, double-speak and backstabbing. I truly think the only way any good could possibly be done in the system, it will have to be by someone who was not indoctrinated into the politics and bureaucracy of education.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I completely agree! And that’s why so many parents can’t see the truth I guess. They’ve been brainwashed into thinking this is just the way it is, and how they were educated and didn’t they turn out ok? I want my kids to be more than just ok though.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. No offense to anyone here, but I don’t think we should fear/count on DeVos changing k12 education all that much. The Feds only control about $20B of educational funding while it is estimated that ESA and voucher programs will require about $220B. She’s essentially only a figurehead in her current position and totally dependent on states to back her up.

    I think what is potentially the most anxiety inducing about the woman is her control over student debt in higher education. School debt is just so pervasive and can impact our economy in so many unpredictable ways that I pray that God is guidinng her hand.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

