How to Get Reluctant Writers to Write with Video Presentations

As a writer, one of the biggest challenges for me is having some children who, unfortunately, don’t share a love of writing with me.

I’m going to be honest here. I’ve really had a bit of difficulty coming to terms with this, and the result has been that I haven’t always been able to come up with fruitful solutions to counteract this problem.

Although notebooking has been such a blessing to our homeschool, every now and then there are still times when I can see that my reluctant writers need to do something different for a change. It really is true that you can have too much of a good thing. 

Encourage writing with better homeschooling resources

(This post was sponsored by mysimpleshow. All opinions are entirely my own.)

As little interest as my kids have in writing, however, videos have always been a source of inspiration to them. Whether they’re watching them on YouTube or creating their own, they never grow tired of this visual learning resource.

And then it hit me. What if I had my kids do video presentations in lieu of the typical writing assignment? Not only would this allow them to write in a format more suited to their interests, but it would also help them to learn the ins and outs of video software.

Luckily, I came across the perfect resource- mysimpleshow.

What is mysimpleshow?

This program provides an outstanding alternative to the traditional learning route. Instead of reports and essays, mysimpleshow provides an innovative way for your child to present what they’ve been learning about.

Rather than a boring book report, your child can actually create their own explainer video, a short video with narration and visuals that will “explain” your child’s topic.

At first, I was a little worried that my low-tech self wouldn’t be able to help my kids if they ran across a problem with this program, but it is so straightforward and so well explained that I ended up even doing a video of my own!

 

Lest you believe this is simply a way for your children to get out of writing altogether, that just isn’t so. Since the videos are narrated (there are voices you can choose from or you can even record your own), your child will be the one writing the “script.”

After the text is written, your child can choose illustrations or even upload their own photos, choose a voiceover and background music, and share their video on social media once it’s complete.

Here’s how we used this homeschooling resource:

My kids chose their own topics.

There are so many different templates to use on mysimpleshow that it was tempting for me to assign a different one for them to try each week, but knowing the aversion my kids have to writing, I decided it would be best to leave this entirely up to them.

My children all decided to use notebooking pages they had worked on throughout the week as inspiration for their video presentations. Some topics they covered were:

  • corn snakes
  • rats
  • black widow spiders
  • elephants
  • worms

(Do you see a theme?)

video presentation

Allowing them to use their notebooking pages inspired them to be more diligent in their work throughout the week because they knew this would be the material for their videos. It worked out very well, if I do say so myself.

After typing in the text, we would edit it together.

Because my kids don’t like to write, they get especially grumpy when you point out that they’ve done something wrong. Since they knew that these videos would be seen by others, they were more receptive to constructive criticism, and our time spent proofreading together was better spent than if they were simply doing an exercise in a grammar book.

They shared their video presentations on YouTube.

As I said earlier, being aware that others would see these videos was great motivation for my kids to do their absolute best work.

Having kids who don’t enjoy writing doesn’t have to be as trying as we often make it out to be. With fantastic homeschooling resources like mysimpleshow, an aversion to writing is no longer such a big obstacle to overcome.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

4 thoughts on “How to Get Reluctant Writers to Write with Video Presentations”

Leave a Reply

