Every Week Should Be Break Week

wpid-wp-1392380820809.jpg

Looks familiar from last week’s post, right? And the week before…and the week before. I’m telling you, I am so sick of snow. I’m ready to pack up everything and move South. Maybe Louisiana…or Texas…or Australia. We’ve gotten so much snow that our city was completely unprepared. They ran out of salt for the streets, and all the stores ran out of rock salt. Of course we didn’t have any, so I told my husband to sprinkle some cat litter for traction. He did more than sprinkle. He poured so much out front and out back that it looked like we were living on a beach. What a mess. He’s got most of it cleaned up now, and he’s got a plan on how he’ll shovel up the rest. Oy vey.

Anyway…on with the week…

This was our first ever break week since we’ve started unschooling. If you’re questioning why we even needed a break, I wrote about it right here. This entire week has had me pleasantly surprised.
I honestly thought that since I would not be limiting screen time that I would have a bunch of Minecrafting zombies, especially considering the fact that we’ve gotten four new laptops this week. I myself have been spending quite a bit of time on mine. Hey, give me a break. I’ve been doing all my online activity, including writing my blog, on my Android! This is new to me, too!
Looking back on the week, though, I’ve noticed something that did not escape Arianna’s attention either…the kids have been doing more this week than since we started unschooling! This has completely validated my theory that children learn best without expectations.
I found it exceedingly funny that on our second day of break, several of the kids spent hours playing school. IMAG5139 (1) And not just your typical ABC’s stuff, either. I walked into the living room, and Caollin was using our solar system model to quiz the kids on the planets. Then, she had them all sit and listen while she played with the interactive tablet that goes with it. Shortly afterward, I heard music. I looked in on the kids and saw that Caollin had “Fifty Nifty United States” playing on her tablet while the kids sang, and she played guitar! I was so happy, I almost couldn’t contain myself, but I managed to play it cool because I didn’t want to ruin the moment.
If you’ve read my blog before, you probably remember that my kids love arts and crafts, so, of course, these activities played a huge role in our week.
IMAG5145

Yes, she's wearing a bathing suit top in the middle of winter. Choose your battles, right?
Yes, she’s wearing a bathing suit top in the middle of winter. Choose your battles, right?

Summer's always a mess, isn't she?
Summer’s always a mess, isn’t she?

It’s taken the older kids some time to get used to Minecraft on the PC since they’ve always played the pocket edition. They’ve really learned a lot, though, and Dillon has been as diligent as ever in researching mods. He was so excited today because he learned how to make a portal using obsidian and a snowman using a pumpkin. (I have no clue.) IMAG5158
Arianna made her own lipstick with Crayola Crayons (she learned it from a makeup tutorial). She said it worked well, but it was really hard to pour it into the little containers.
I was checking my emails today when I heard Caollin using my phone to learn French on Mango Languages. I’ll tell you, out of everyone, Caollin has surprised me the most this week because she’s the one who’s spent the most time doing nothing but petting the cats. As I alluded to earlier, even Arianna has noticed the difference this week. She mentioned to me last night that we should always have break because everyone’s been so much busier…and happier. A very wise observation, I would say.
I bought my first digital camera today (yes, my 14 year old has a DSLR, but I’ve only been using my Android to take pictures). It’s certainly not a DSLR, but, hopefully, today will be the last day I have to post blurry pictures. I’m really excited about it because when you have a lot of kids, you tend to forget to do things for yourself once in a while…so this is my present to me.
Tomorrow we’re planning on finding a pantry for our kitchen because we just don’t have enough cabinet space. Saturday we’ll be having our first family portrait taken in three years. I was so afraid that Brendan, my 20 year old, would have to work, but he’s coming, too! Afterwards, the 13 of us will be taking my mom to Denny’s for her birthday. (Kids eat free! Ahem. They’ll love us.) I’ve already reserved the entire back room. We only take the kids out to a restaurant about once a year, so they’re usually very well-behaved. We shall see…

What’s your week been like?

Linking up with

wpid-collagefridayinstagram.png

wpid-kris_weekly-wrap-up.jpg

wpid-newFFboardbutton_zpsc82e6bfa.png

wpid-This%2520Week%2520Button_thumb%255B1%255D.jpg.jpeg

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

10 thoughts on “Every Week Should Be Break Week”

  1. Wow! Sounds like your week has been really busy. I’ve got nothing to compare to that, but I will say that the holiday this week has thrown off our whole schedule. One of the coolest things I did this week happened tonight. I went to a Writer’s Conference online (PajamaCon) and after that went to meet with a bunch of homeschool moms for coffee. I tell you, it was amazing to sit around with a group of people that feel the same way about their children and their schooling that I do. It was a precious gift.
    I hope that the snow lets up for you soon though!

    Like

  2. We always loved playing school when we were young. I didn’t think kids did that any more!
    BTW – let me know how you ‘find’ that pantry because in this 1047 square foot home I need one too! LOL!

    Like

  3. My hubby teases me about my love for snow, because I don’t have to go out in it. I just get to play in it with the kids and then drink hot cocoa with them😉 I am glad the unschooling is working out for you and that you were able to blog on a real computer😉 My kids are seriously into Minecraft as well. No clue what it’s all about, but I listen with interest when a world is explained to me😉

    Like

  4. Wow, sounds like you all had a great week.Hope that snow clears soon, we have a LOT of rain in Scotland but at least it doesn’t stop us going places, it just means we get to places very wet instead😉

    Like

  5. Break week sounds like it was very productive! No pressure or expectations is a good thing. I’m not sure Jeremiah would ever get off his online games, even to eat If I didn’t make him once in a while! I love the way you do school. I wish I was just a little braver to more unschoolish than we are! I am also sick of snow!

    Like

  6. Trust me, I still get a little panicky at times. The thing is, I KNOW they’re learning so much, but some of it is hard to put in educationese for the school district. Someday I hope to move to an easier state.

    Like

Leave a Reply

