My Top 10 Most Popular Homeschooling Posts from 2017

The 10 Most Popular Homeschooling Posts of 2017 from There's No Place Like Home

Can you believe it’s 2018 already? It seems like only yesterday I was sharing my most popular posts of 2016. In what seems like a blink of an eye, here we are one year later.

Wow.

Anyway, after allowing myself to take a much needed one-week break from the blog, my YouTube channel, and most social media last week, I’m feeling refreshed and ready to get this new year started!

Before I kick off my own countdown here, I just wanted to say thank you so much to all of you for reading, commenting, and being such a huge encouragement to me. Believe it or not, I had over a quarter of a million views on my blog in 2017 and my fledgling YouTube channel has almost 2,000 subscribers. Is that crazy, or what?

So, without further ado, here are my: 

Top 10 Posts from 2017

#10

How to Homeschool Simply (The Teen Years)

You might not often hear the words “relaxed” and “teens” in the same sentence with everything from hormones to anxiety about the future, but it is possible to homeschool in a more simple manner than most people may imagine.”

#9

7 Reasons School Is Not an Option for My Homeschooled Kids

“During the time my kids were back in school, my eyes were truly opened to the differences in my kids and in our lives from when they were homeschooled and when they were not. After the initial honeymoon period, it wasn’t a pleasant time for any of us.”

#8

50 Reasons Homeschooling Is Less Stressful Than School

“One of the most common things I hear from strangers upon them hearing the revelation that I homeschool is how I must be crazy because sending my kids to school would be so much easier.

Here are 50 reasons why I disagree…”

#7

3 Reasons I Don’t Send My Kids to School to Be Salt and Light

“I am not willing to allow my children to spend more time learning about things contrary to our beliefs than they do learning about the most sacred source of wisdom there is, the Bible.”

#6

3 Reasons to Avoid Overcompliance with State Homeschool Laws

“There are so many people who have put their heart and soul into advocating for our right to homeschool, and for our right to do it with reasonable regulations. When we fall into overcompliance, we are, in essence, negating their hard work by brushing off many of the freedoms they’ve won for us.”

#5

A Cautionary Tale: The Time I Sent My Kids Back to School

If you’re feeling like you want to send your kids back to school because you’re stressed out, think long and hard about it first.

The peace and quiet you may feel at first may quickly be replaced by regret.”

#4

10 Practical Ways to Shorten Your Homeschool Days

“What if I were to tell you that your homeschool day could be shorter than it is? What if I were also to tell you that your child’s education wouldn’t suffer because of it?”

#3

Why in the World Is School Considered Normal?

“It’s time we wake up. Our society has been brainwashed into believing that our kids are nothing but a nuisance. That “professionals” are more equipped to deal with our children on a day-to-day basis than we are. That life is so. much. better. when our kids are gone for the bulk of the day. That being with our kids and enjoying it is somehow abnormal.”

#2

How Can Homeschoolers Handle Being with Their Kids All Day?

“Since we’ve all grown up with the routine of children being separated from their families for 35 hours a week and 36 weeks a year minimum, it’s a valid question. As a society, we just aren’t used to being with our own kids anymore because we’ve grown so used to them being gone most of the time in school or daycare.”

#1

50 Reasons Why Homeschooling Is Better Than School

One thing I’ve noticed with other homeschool moms is that, although there are some exceptions, the vast majority of homeschoolers who back public schools have never actually had their own children attend them. (Watch my related video here.)

This has been weighing on my mind quite a bit recently, so today I decided to throw together a few…ahem…reasons why homeschooling is better than school, coming from the perspective of a mom who has been there and done that.”

Well, there you have it- my top 10 posts of 2017! Now I would love your input. What are your favorite topics to read about? Relaxed homeschooling? Notebooking? Compulsory schooling? Unit studies? A little of everything? I would love if you’d leave a comment telling me what you would most like to see me write about this year.

And before I forget, I wish you a blessed and safe New Year. 🙂

Happy Homeschooling!

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

One thought on “My Top 10 Most Popular Homeschooling Posts from 2017”

  1. Love this list and your blog. My favorites are anything about Notebooking, Unit Studies, and would love to hear your family’s favorite read-aloud books you’ve done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment