Lazy Day Links- 7/8/16

recommended links books
Image courtesy of porbital at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We have officially reached the last Friday of our summer break! The kids and I are so excited about beginning a new homeschool year.

Besides getting ready for school this weekend, I’ve got a ton of things to do. I’m working on revising an article I wrote for a parenting website- more on that later- and I’ve got two books to read and review and another on the way. So I’m going to keep this short and sweet…

Here are this week’s links:

My Favorite Posts:

Lessons from Our Homeschool Journey– Happy Hearts Homeschool

Do You Have What It Takes to Be a Homeschooler?– Practical, by Default

The Bitter Homeschoolers Wish List– Homeschooling 911 (Deborah Markus)

Justice Is Weeping Today– Elihu’s Corner

What Turns Mom into a Teacher?– God Is Good

 

Posts You May Have Missed:

Are You Looking for an Exciting Way to Incorporate PA History?

How to Make Kids Forget that Learning Can Be Any Fun at All

Why Should We Homeschool?- Part 12- Teachers Are Starting to Give Up

Tailoring a Homeschool Curriculum to Fit Your Child (And Not the Other Way Around)

Why Should We Homeschool?- Part 4- Freedom of Choice

 

Books Worth Reading and Movies Worth Watching:

I’m going to do things a little differently here today. This week I am going to ask for some ideas from you! Leave a comment and tell us your favorite books and/or movies. I’d like to use some of your ideas in future “Lazy Day Links.”

I’m looking forward to your comments. Have a great weekend!🙂

 

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

8 thoughts on “Lazy Day Links- 7/8/16”

    1. We ended on May 13, and we usually do a six week on, one week off schedule. My teens don’t start until the end of August, though. They follow a more schoolish calendar.

      Like

  1. Thanks for linking two of my posts now. You’re sweet. Favorite books- The Tale of Despereaux. Heroes of Olympus. The Summerhouse. Edenbrooke. Favorite movies- The Slipper and the Rose. Any Disney movie with Haylee Mills. The Pajama Game. Calamity Jane (Both Doris Day movies). Pride and Prejudice. Star Wars.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Favorite Books read aloud to my 5-6 yo:
    Charlotte’s Web (also a good movie)
    A little Princess (didn’t like movie)
    The secret Garden (also a very good movie)
    The Princess and the Goblins + sequel The Princess and Curdie
    Betsy Tacy
    The Wizard of Oz (also fabulous movie)
    Babe (also a great movie)

    Good family movie night selections:
    Bolt
    The good dinosaur
    Turbo
    We use Vidangel to filter for any inappropriate words that would ruin an otherwise good movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome suggestions! We did read Charlotte’s Web and The Wizard of Oz together, and my daughter read The Little Princess, and she loved the movie- the newer version. We love the movie Babe- I didn’t realize it was a book! Thanks so much. You’ve given me fresh ideas!

      Like

Leave a Reply

