Lazy Day Links- 7/8/16

recommended links books
Image courtesy of porbital at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We have officially reached the last Friday of our summer break! The kids and I are so excited about beginning a new homeschool year.

Besides getting ready for school this weekend, I’ve got a ton of things to do. I’m working on revising an article I wrote for a parenting website- more on that later- and I’ve got two books to read and review and another on the way. So I’m going to keep this short and sweet…

Here are this week’s links:

My Favorite Posts:

Lessons from Our Homeschool Journey– Happy Hearts Homeschool

Do You Have What It Takes to Be a Homeschooler?– Practical, by Default

The Bitter Homeschoolers Wish List– Homeschooling 911 (Deborah Markus)

Justice Is Weeping Today– Elihu’s Corner

What Turns Mom into a Teacher?– God Is Good

 

Posts You May Have Missed:

Are You Looking for an Exciting Way to Incorporate PA History?

How to Make Kids Forget that Learning Can Be Any Fun at All

Why Should We Homeschool?- Part 12- Teachers Are Starting to Give Up

Tailoring a Homeschool Curriculum to Fit Your Child (And Not the Other Way Around)

Why Should We Homeschool?- Part 4- Freedom of Choice

 

Books Worth Reading and Movies Worth Watching:

I’m going to do things a little differently here today. This week I am going to ask for some ideas from you! Leave a comment and tell us your favorite books and/or movies. I’d like to use some of your ideas in future “Lazy Day Links.”

I’m looking forward to your comments. Have a great weekend! 🙂

 

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

8 thoughts on “Lazy Day Links- 7/8/16”

    1. We ended on May 13, and we usually do a six week on, one week off schedule. My teens don’t start until the end of August, though. They follow a more schoolish calendar.

      Like

  1. Thanks for linking two of my posts now. You’re sweet. Favorite books- The Tale of Despereaux. Heroes of Olympus. The Summerhouse. Edenbrooke. Favorite movies- The Slipper and the Rose. Any Disney movie with Haylee Mills. The Pajama Game. Calamity Jane (Both Doris Day movies). Pride and Prejudice. Star Wars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the Heroes of Olympus series, too! And believe it or not, I’ve never seen any of those movies other than Star Wars. Thanks for the great suggestions. And you’re welcome. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Favorite Books read aloud to my 5-6 yo:
    Charlotte’s Web (also a good movie)
    A little Princess (didn’t like movie)
    The secret Garden (also a very good movie)
    The Princess and the Goblins + sequel The Princess and Curdie
    Betsy Tacy
    The Wizard of Oz (also fabulous movie)
    Babe (also a great movie)

    Good family movie night selections:
    Bolt
    The good dinosaur
    Turbo
    We use Vidangel to filter for any inappropriate words that would ruin an otherwise good movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome suggestions! We did read Charlotte’s Web and The Wizard of Oz together, and my daughter read The Little Princess, and she loved the movie- the newer version. We love the movie Babe- I didn’t realize it was a book! Thanks so much. You’ve given me fresh ideas!

      Like

Leave a comment