How to Homeschool Multiple Children Without Going Crazy

When it comes to homeschooling, the absolute hardest part for me has been coming up with a suitable game plan for teaching multiple children. And I mean multiple children. 

Ten to be exact.

After homeschooling for eight years, I still don’t have it all together. I continue to tweak things here and there every now and then in the hopes of getting it right, but I’ve come to the realization that it will never be perfect. It just won’t.  

Kids aren’t theories or anecdotes in a book. They’re living and breathing human beings who, try as I might, are not going to fulfill the homeschooling fantasy I have in my head of them blissfully and attentively listening as I give a lecture on the fallacies of Aristotle’s scientific declarations.

Sigh.

But…it doesn’t mean I have to throw in the towel and let chaos reign. As a mom of many, it’s been crucial for me to come up with some large family homeschool hacks that have helped me keep my sanity and relax a little bit.

homeschooling without going crazy

Okay…It’s not as relaxing as that, but you get the picture.

This week I’m going to be sharing my favorite large family homeschool hacks. These are the hacks that have stood the test of time and helped me to keep my sanity for as long as I have. 😉

Starting tomorrow, I’ll be sharing posts on:

These four hacks have kept my homeschool running smoothly and efficiently, and leave plenty of room for unexpected circumstances that always seem to pop up when we least expect them. Anytime I’ve grown lax in implementing any of these things, our homeschool falls apart at the seams. That’s how effective they are.

I hope you’ll join me tomorrow as I write about the most important method I use- grouping my kids and alternating their homeschool days/weeks. Due to the sheer size of our family, skipping this one simple step would make all of the other steps unworkable.

Homeschooling multiple children can certainly take some juggling, but it’s definitely doable, and it doesn’t have to drive you crazy!

Here are some links to the videos based on this series:

Grouping and Alternating

Uncomplicated Unit Studies

Read-Alouds and Notebooking

Combining the 3R’s with Self-Directed learning

Hope to see you here this week!

This post is a part of iHomeschool Network’s Homeschool Blogger Hopscotch.

Homeschool blogger hopscotch

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

22 thoughts on “How to Homeschool Multiple Children Without Going Crazy”

  1. Yes, in addition, if you have a child with any health problems, even the basic things can be a problem. Daily we face challenges, it is hard to give everyone the attention, when the health needs one is very overwhelming sometimes. I look forward to this series! Thank you again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always think to myself “if those big families I know can manage to homeschool, then I can do it too.”
      So if they can do it and have done it, it’s do-able! And encouraging to know that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment