Everything You Need to Know to Start Homeschooling

A Step-By-Step Tutorial to Start Homeschooling

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – embarking on a new homeschooling journey can be scaryWhat can be more intimidating than being in charge of your child’s education when it’s been done by “professionals” for generations?

Well, I’ll tell you what…taking that very first step to begin with.

The fact is, there is so much more to beginning to homeschool than choosing curriculum and praying you get it right. Truth be told, choosing curriculum is actually one of the last things that should happen when getting started. 

Unfortunately, most parent don’t realize this until it’s too late, which is why I created this step-by-step guide to start homeschooling.

So if you’re new to homeschooling or just plain curious about what I have to say, make yourself comfortable and enjoy the ride. 😉

A Step-By-Step Guide to Begin Homeschooling

 

Legalities

3 Reasons to Avoid Overcompliance with State Homeschool Laws

Dear Homeschool Parent, The School District Is Not Your Friend

 

Deschooling

The What, When, Where, Why, and How of Deschooling

Deschooling: It Isn’t Just for Kids!

 

Discovering Your Child’s Learning Style

Why Should We Homeschool?- Part 2- Personalized Learning

 

Choosing Curriculum

How to Homeschool for Free (Or Close Enough to It!)

 

Choosing Your Schedule

Why We Use a Homeschool Routine Instead of a Schedule

The Year-Round Schedule That Saved Our Homeschool

 

Final Thoughts

How Can Homeschoolers Handle Being with Their Kids All Day?

Stop, Rewind, Start Over: When Homeschool Moms Mess Up

 

I hope this series has been a blessing to you. If you have any questions or additional advice for parents just starting out, leave a comment. I always love to hear from you!

Homeschooling and education are my passion. It is my fervent hope to one day devote more time to creating content for you. If you’d like to support this ministry, consider supporting me on Patreon.

Thank you so much. I appreciate each and every one of you!

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

4 thoughts on “Everything You Need to Know to Start Homeschooling”

  1. Thank you for putting all of these in one place! Looked at several of them just now and hope to watch more later. I’m on year 3 of homeschooling my kids but this is the first year I’ve been really excited about it…until we got further into the year and it just seemed SO HARD. My kids are still pretty young so I feel like I’m expecting them to learn about/be interested in things that really only my oldest (8) should need to learn. And what with various interruptions to our year it’s been hard to keep the momentum going. Fortunately my oldest is the kind who’ll pick up the history book and read the whole thing by himself, so I’m not really worried that he’s not learning. 🙂 Anyway, I really appreciate you and your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re great. I became a public school teacher, then continued because I saw a need for teachers who teach kids how to think for themselves, reason things out, and understand. Had I known before college what education had become, I might have gone down a different path. But just the same, those years were well-worth the time: for the kids and myself, for I learned all along the way. This I’ve dealved into quite a bit on my site. I gathered, as with you, that it’s important to understand then share that understanding, or encourage this, in the kids. Then, once they realize they already have what they need, just parental guidance and encouragement as needed, their self-esteem grows and nothing can stop where their interests lead.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment