An Intimate Glimpse into Life with Ten Kids- February

#extralargefamilies

     Life with ten kids isn’t easy, but it’s usually not as hectic as most people would believe. Today you’re invited in to our unschooling household- as is…no embellishments (like I would need to do that), no gloss overs. This is the real deal.
     If you’re not familiar with my blog, here is another post in which I listed everyone by name and, if it’s one of the kids, by age. Just to clarify things, we actually have eleven kids, but our oldest, Brendan, is twenty and no longer lives at home. I always feel bad leaving him out, so now that that’s off my chest…on to our day!

February 13, 2014

1:40am- I wake up to use the bathroom and decide to moderate some comments on my blog- I hate to let them sit all night. Shortly afterwards, Kenzie wakes up. She goes back to sleep after a few minutes of fussing. (She’s teething again. I feel like every time I write one of these posts, she’s teething and crabby. Oh, well. Such is life.)

2:45am- I’m still awake- that blasted Dunkin Donuts coffee! Kenzie wakes up again, then shortly falls back asleep.

3:20am- …still awake…Kenzie wakes again. I get her calmed down again. I check my Twitter, since I can’t sleep anyway. I try watching some goofy SyFy movie, hoping it will put me to sleep, to no avail. I don’t know how it is with you, but I need to be watching something that actually interests me in order to fall asleep. Put in my favorite movie, I’m out like a light. Turn on an infomercial, and I’m up all night. So…I put in a Sherlock DVD- the one where Moriarty returns, and I’m out in 15 minutes flat. See?

7:15am- London wakes up and asks me if I can play Yahtzee with her. Not now. Can she make a clay charm? Later. Sigh…I might as well get up.
   Shawn is off today because of the weather. I open the front door to look out and see this-

image

Already?

7:45- I hear most of the other kids awake upstairs. Kenzie is content…for the moment.

image

8:15- By now Kenzie’s screaming. As you’re reading this, just imagine it as background music because I hear it off and on all.day.long. I make myself coffee and a bagel and cereal for the kids.

9am- Chore time! Everyone knows what they’re supposed to do, but that doesn’t stop several of the kids from whining. After a minute or two, they stop, and everything gets done. Chores only take 15-20 minutes, if that.

9:15- I get Ireland, Summer, and Kenzie dressed. Then their dresser falls apart.

image

If it’s not one thing, it’s another.

9:30- I went to 5 Below and bought a ton of stuff the day before, so the kids are eager to try everything.

image

image

Little decals came with this kit to cut out and put on the rocks like tattoos. We must have twenty pairs of scissors, but I can’t find any, so I have to use a utility knife. Not particularly safe when you’ve got children surrounding you.

Suddenly, I hear Shawn and Dillon upstairs yelling and banging things. Apparently, there was a mouse in my shoe tote. They got it. Yuck.
Unfortunately, all the noise wakes up Kenzie, who fell asleep only 45 minutes earlier.

image

image

She is not a happy camper. Poor thing.

10am- The kids move on to clay, a 3-d animal game, and pretending to be pirates.

image

image

Summer didn’t have a pirate scarf for her head, so she used bubble wrap. Innovation.

image

image

image

Kenzie is much happier by this time.

image

11am- I introduce drawing with Sharpies. Remind me to keep Summer far away from them.

image

image

Since I have to keep a close eye on the kids with the Sharpies, I create my own masterpiece.

image

Here’s Summer’s masterpiece. I guess I should have watched them closer.

While we’re drawing, Shawn is busy trying to put together a makeshift shovel. Ours broke the other day when he was shoveling the neighbor’s driveway. Because of the snow there’s not a single store in town that has any in stock.

image

Isn’t he handy? It’s actually pretty hilarious because it’s like seven feet tall.

I decide to look outside again.

image

Really??

11:30- The kids have exhausted me with their flitting from one activity to another. I put in American Girl- Molly, hoping to get them to sit for a while. Only Caollin, Bailey, Ireland, and Summer stay to watch it. Everyone else, besides Kenzie, goes upstairs with Shawn. That’s fine with me!

12pm- Lunchtime! PB&J uncrustables and beefsteak- they can pick either one. Devin wakes up. Okay, we woke her up.

image

She just loves to have her picture taken!

image

Dillon’s learned to just ignore me.

12:50- There’s a knock at the door. Our neighbor’s son has shoveled our front steps and sidewalk, since Shawn shoveled his mom’s driveway. (She’s so sweet. She was Devin’s first grade teacher; she’s retired now.) This motivates Shawn to shovel out our driveway out back.

1pm- I read Little House to Dillon, Arianna, Caollin, and Bailey. Devin starts her schoolwork. After Little House, I read aloud to London, Bailey, Luke, Ireland, and Summer while Dillon, Arianna, and Caollin do silent reading. They read twice a day- after family readaloud and at 8pm when I help Devin with algebra. Their afternoon reading is usually non-fiction or historical fiction. Dillon and Arianna are reading about mummies, while Caollin is reading a fictional story about a girl in the Jamestown colony. While I read aloud, the kids either play with legos, clay, or do word searches.

image

image

Today after reading time, the kids all do their own thing…look at books, fact cards, or play a solar system game.

image

I finally decide to fold laundry that’s been sitting here since yesterday. Then I notice that Summer’s gotten into my makeup…again.

image

image

2:45- I play Yahtzee Jr. with Caollin, London, and Ireland.

3:30- We order dinner from a deli on the corner that is actually open in this weather! Yay for me! Then, it’s chores!

4pm- We eat supper. Delicious, but what a mess!

image

4:30- I start cleaning the table but get sidetracked by doing another load of laundry. I put on the anime Ponyo to keep the kids occupied.

image

I finish cleaning the table.

5:30- I finally get to my devotions…sort of. Kenzie starts screaming halfway through, so I have to stop.

6pm- The house is quiet, so I check my Twitter and emails.

6:30- Bathtime!! First Kenzie, then London and Ireland, then Caollin and Summer, finally Bailey and Luke.

6:45- Chore time. I know you’re probably wondering how bathtime went so fast…it’s actually still going on. That’s why I put an older kid in with a younger kid…they’re self-sufficient. Okay, except Bailey and Luke. They’re only a year apart and, apparently, aren’t ready for unsupervised bathing because they dumped an entire bottle of shampoo out today. Arianna and Dillon do their math while the house is semi-quiet.

7pm- Ireland and Summer play with clay and legos, while Caollin is fascinated with the Egyptian kit I got yesterday. She even makes a paper mummy to put in the sarcophagus.

image

Kenzie’s nice and clean and ready for her devotions!

image

I came down the steps and saw Arianna playing with the kids.

image

Caollin’s paper doll mummy

Eventually, everyone wanted to be the pharaoh.

image

Even pharaohs do math!

image

7:15- Caollin moves on to Mind Bender puzzles and then her math. Several of the other kids are in my room on their electronics.

image

image

7:45- Bedtime story…the Family Bible is MIA, so we’ll have to hunt for that tomorrow.

8pm- Bailey, Luke, Ireland, and Summer go to bed. Caollin and London paint Chinese lanterns. Then, Dillon, Arianna, Caollin, and London do more silent reading- this time anything they choose.

image

I do algebra with Devin (I love the FOIL method!)

9:15- Caollin and London go up to bed, and I start writing this post.

10:53- That’s right now. I’m finishing this up, and hopefully going to bed.

Are you as tired as I am?

What’s your day like??

Linking up with
http://simplehomeschool.net/share-your-day-2014/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+SimpleHomeschool+%28Simple+Homeschool%29

image
http://www.weirdunsocializedhomeschoolers.com/weekly-wrap-up-the-one-with-more-snow/

image
http://www.homegrownlearners.com/home/2014/2/14/all-about-love-and-ice-collage-friday.html

image

A Mama’s Story

image

http://highhillhomeschool.blogspot.com/2014/02/entertaining-and-educational-chinese_14.html?m=1

image

Hip Homeschool Moms

apples_wheel_01w-300x300

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

20 thoughts on “An Intimate Glimpse into Life with Ten Kids- February”

  1. The joys of electronics! I wish they had been around when my kids were young. Oh – there must be a scissor thief out and about. I have ‘lost ’4 pair of my little sewing scissors!

    Like

  2. I love all the photos! What a beautiful family life. Dumping an entire bottle of shampoo reminded me of when I did that as a child. Too funny. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Love reading this!! I think Sharpies should be banned substances but we have them too – and foolishly let the kids use them. Some times I’m good at keeping my eye on them but my walls attest to lapses in my attention. 😉

    Like

  4. I so enjoyed reading about your day and seeing your lovely pics (what a lot of snow!) Very appreciative you took the time to document it all for us to see. I find it so interesting getting a peek into how others spend their days!

    Like

  5. I kind of love this. I am simultaneously in awe and a little terrified. But seriously, your day sounds awesome, in a sleepless unschool-y crazy wonderful sort of way. Actually, it looks a lot like our days, minus, you know, 70% of the kids. Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend!

    Like

  6. Yes, i’m tired reading this. 😉 “I hate to let them sit all night” that made me laugh about comments and twitter I do that too.
    i love how you school when you can rather than worry about what time of day it is.

    Like

    1. I used to be very strict with time, but it always ended up being too stressful for all of us. I do have general time frames that I try to keep because they need the routine, but I’ve learned that flexibility is key!

      Like

Leave a comment