7 Awesome YouTube Channels Your Kids Will Absolutely Love

One thing I love about homeschooling in this day and age is the abundance of resources at our feet, thanks to the world wide web. While I love books with every fiber of my being, there’s just something pretty awesome about being able to type any topic of interest into my computer and almost instantly have a plethora of choices pop up.

YouTube is by far our most frequently used website, not only in our homeschool, but in our free time, as well. And with technology being what it is, we’re not limited to surrounding ourselves around the computer screen. Thanks to our Smart TV, we can watch our favorite channels in the comfort of our living room.

Today I’m going to share with you our 7 favorite YouTube channels. I should point out that my kids have more than 7 favorites; however, for the sake of your sanity, I’ve limited it to the 7 channels I actually enjoy watching with my kids. As much as I appreciate these channels, there are a great many others that can get a bit…annoying. 

With that being said, here are our:

7 Favorite YouTube Channels

 

#1- Crash Course

Whenever I have a specific topic for a homeschool lesson in mind, the first channel I check for an educational video is Crash Course. These videos are funny, informative, and entertaining. Since I occasionally disagree with the views of the host, I do watch this with my children. I honestly don’t mind, though. The valuable information to be gleaned far outweighs any disagreements I may have.

 

#2- Toy Genie Surprises 

Although this channel is primarily for toy reviews, it is so educational for younger children. The reviewer, also known as Toy Genie, patiently reviews counting, colors, and sorting as she describes each toy she examines. Unlike other toy reviewers who are a bit hyper, Toy Genie is very soft-spoken and has a calming effect on my children (okay, and me!). At first I didn’t recognize the value in this channel, but when my then- 4 year old daughter told me the precise definition of a “duplicate,” I began to pay more attention and was pleasantly surprised at the wealth of information in these videos.

 

#3- TheDiamondMinecart//DanTDM

Primarily a gaming channel, Dan TDM spends much of his time playing Minecraft, Roblox, and other popular video games. Unlike most other YouTube gamers, he keeps his language clean and is always very respectful. You may not find much value in this pastime, but, like Toy Genie Surprises, I was pleasantly caught off guard at the abundance of new knowledge that can be picked up from some of these games, particularly Minecraft.

 

#4- Life Hacks for Kids

While this isn’t actually a channel, but a collection of videos that are a part of Dreamworks TV, Life Hacks for Kids has enough videos (95) that I consider it a channel in itself. The kids and I love watching this together because this girl is the Queen of DIY. She has such brilliant ideas and is so amazing at everything she does. Every time my kids watch these videos, they walk away inspired and usually end up crafting for several hours afterwards.

 

#5- Brave Wilderness

No list would be complete without an animal expert, and Coyote Peterson is our favorite. This guy is fearless. He’ll be spouting off facts about fire ants as he’s plunging his hands into an anthill full of them. He’s been bitten by crocodiles and snapping turtles, and just today we watched him fall off a 15 ft. cliff. He brings adventure to a whole new level.

 

#6- My Cupcake Addiction

Having a novice baker in the house means I’ve got to include a great baking channel on my list. Elise, hostess of My Cupcake Addiction, is as fun and inspiring to watch as Sunny from Life Hacks for Kids. Her informative, no-nonsense tutorials have motivated my 12 year old to create elaborate cupcake recipes from scratch. I mean, really. How many adolescent girls have fondant on their wish list?

 

#7- How Stuff Works

If you’re looking for a high quality channel that explains the ins and outs of, well…how stuff works, this is the perfect channel for you. As with Crash Course, this is the first place I check for any engineering-type videos I may be searching for. One word of advice, though- these videos are best watched supervised by an adult, as some of the topics are better for older children.

 

So there you have it…our 7 favorite YouTube channels for learning coupled with entertainment. What do you and your kids like to watch? Leave a comment!

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

15 thoughts on “7 Awesome YouTube Channels Your Kids Will Absolutely Love”

  1. My daughter was watching an abcmouse.com video the other day and then clicked on something that came up that ended up being one of those toy review things. I let it play, just so she could see what it was, but didn’t really thing I wanted her watching it again in the future. I hadn’t thought about how she might pick up a word like duplicate, but I did notice that she suddenly began using much more dialogue between all her stuffed animals when she played, which was modeled by the toy opener. Just another reminder at how even things we don’t thing have educational value, do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My kids use Youtube a lot and wile I am getting better about occasionally thinking of looking something up there it has not become the knee jerk reaction that looking for a book at the library is just yet. I hope to continue to use it more and will be pinning this post to remember some channels to look through.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment