Homeschooling High School with College in Mind- Review

This year we will have our very first homeschool graduate. It’s an exciting time, albeit a bit stressful because this is uncharted territory for us. There have been moments of serenity where I’ve thought, I’ve got this, and others when I’ve panicked and convinced myself that I had no idea what I was doing. 

Betsy Sproger, author of Homeschooling High School with College in Mind, has penned a delightful and informative manual for those of us who are preparing our high school age children for a possible college career after their homeschool graduation. She has successfully homeschooled and graduated her now college-age daughter who was accepted at every school she applied to and is now attending her first-choice university.

Having navigated triumphantly through homeschool and beyond, Betsy has kindly decided to share her wisdom with those of us who may not be exactly sure how things work when it comes to college admissions and how they deal with homeschoolers. This resource covers topics such as:

  • How to plan a homeschool routine for college-bound students
  • Ideas on curriculum
  • 3 ways to assign credits
  • Transcripts
  • College essays
  • Researching college requirements
  • And more!

This book is packed with valuable information, and it’s written in an easy-to-read format for those of us who don’t have the time to read dictionary-size manuals. I truly believe that Betsy literally thought of everything and didn’t think twice about including it!

 

My Thoughts:

I’m the first person to admit that sometimes I tend to fly by the seat of my pants, and, to be honest, that’s the approach I’ve been taking with my 17-year-old for the past year or two. My mentality has usually been that we’ll figure things out as they arise, and everything will be just fine.

Betsy brought up so many great ideas that I never would have even considered before. She beautifully described how she and her daughter set out to tackle this monumental stage of life in a prepared, informed, and confident way. Homeschooling requires resourcefulness, and, I’m telling you, Betsy and her daughter have taken resourcefulness to a whole new level!

I will be recommending this book to all of my friends who plan on homeschooling for the long haul.

And you know what? Now is the perfect time to purchase Homeschooling High School with College in Mind because from today through February 5, 2017, this book will be on sale for 45% off the Kindle version and 20% off the paperback copy. Get your copy now!

 

Disclaimer- I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

Author: Shelly Sangrey

I'm Shelly, a Christ-following, homeschooling Mom of eleven children ( okay, not ALL children. My oldest is 23.) I met my husband right after graduation, and we've been together ever since. Though my life can be hectic at times... okay, ALL the time, I wouldn't change it for anything.

14 thoughts on “Homeschooling High School with College in Mind- Review”

  1. Congrats on reaching this milestone! I have 2 homeschool graduates and 2 more in high school. I never thought I’d make it that far, but when I saw my first child finish high school, i realized that all the effort and craziness was TOTALLY worth it. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

